FC Pyunik is 2008 STAR National League Champion

First time during independent Armenia history on November 19 additional match took place determining STAR National League Champion. FC Pyunik and FC Ararat struggled for the Champion Title at 2008 season main match. None of both teams managed to score during the first half. Only at the 23rd minute of the second half Pyunik forward Albert Tadevosyan completed the pass from right scoring the first goal at the match. But Ararat could rapidly restore the match tally. Ararat midfielder Vahagn Minasyan scored reciprocally. Pyunik gained penalty kick a few minutes before the match end but team captain Sargis Hovsepyan couldn’t realize it neatly. The match ended in 1:1 draw and 30 minutes extra time was appointed additionally. At the 118th minute of the match Albert Tadevosyan scored his second goal gaining victory for his team. Pyunik became Armenia Champion 8th time in a row. Ararat got the silver medals and the second place and Gandzasar (Kapan) got the third place.

Republican Studium, Yerevan

Referee - Ararat Chagaryan

Pyunik vs. Ararat 2:1

Scores - Tadevosyan 68, 118, Minasyan 69.

Yellow cards - Renato 3, Minasyan 3, Andrikyan 76, Grigoryan 83.

Red cards - Grigoryan 84, Gimenez 120, Tadevosyan 120.

Pyunik – Grigor Meliksetyan, Sargis Hovsepyan, Karen Khachatryan, Karen Dokhoyan, Artak Andrikyan, Karlen Mkrtchyan (Artur Yuspashyan 46), Artur Yedigaryan (Vardan Petrosyan 88), Norayr Sahakyan, Davit Manoyan (Albert Tadevosyan 56), Edgar Malakyan, Gevorg Ghazaryan.

Head Coach
– Vardan Minasyan.

– Gevorg Prazyan, Mikheil Simonyan (Elimilo Paluchi Kalsani 69), Juliano Gimenes, Vahagn Minasyan, Artashes Antonyan, Karen Navoyan, Artur Petrosyan, Enrike Jeferson, Renato Morayes (Artak Grigoryan 39), Markos Pinheiro Pizzelli, Gevorg Nranyan (Nshan Erzrumyan 72).

Head Coach – Varujan Sukiasyan.

Armenian Development Bank Hummel